Educators Hall of Fame

The Carter County Imagination Library Board is hosting its Fourteenth Annual Educators Hall of Fame to honor outstanding educators and their immeasurable and lasting contributions to both their students and the community. The Educators Hall of Fame Celebration will be held on Saturday, April 23, 2022, when the four honorees will be announced: two deceased educators (one each from the city and county) and two retired living educators (one each from the city and county). The public is invited to participate in the selection process by nominating teachers/educators who have touched their lives in a special way and given their utmost to the profession.

To nominate a teacher for the Educators Hall of Fame, simply fill out the below Nomination and, when completed, return to the Elizabethton/Carter County Public Library or mail to Lilo Duncan, 190 Mayfield Drive, Elizabethton, TN 37643. (One candidate nomination per form). Nominations submitted in 2020 and 2021 have been held and will be considered again this year. Nominations must be received no later than Monday, April 4, 2022. If additional information is needed, call Lilo Duncan at 423-542-5690.

Teachers can be inducted into the Hall of Fame only once/ Please do not nominate the previous honorees listed below:

Carter County Schools:

Margaret Broome (2008), David Buck (2016), Kathy Buck (2018), Renee Burchfield (2018), Kate Ensor (2013), Janice Willette Ericson (2012), John Fine (2017), Helen Finney (2006), John Hardin (2013), Raymond Hill (2019), Newland Hyder (2007), Tommy Jenkins (2015), James G. "Buddy" Jones (2011), Margaret Jones (2010), Cheri Miller (2017), Cathy Ogg (2009), Stephen Payne (2019), Jack Pearman (2009), Edna Potter (2007), James Potter (2006), Glenda Ranshaw (2008), Mary Rasar (2011), Zola Shankle (2012), Joe Taylor (2016), Glen Tester (2010), Richard Winters (2015)

Elizabethton City Schools:

Bill Armstrong (2010), Catherine Armstrong (2019), Frank Baker (2013), Wanda Bass (2016), Gertrude Bishop (2011), Mary Emma Brown (2012), Carl Cates (2018), Willie Church (2013), Nell Curtis (2017), T.A. Dugger (2019), Harold Ellis (2015), Harry Fine (2010), Patsy Goddard (2018), Sam Greenwell (2009), Thomas J. Harville (2012), JobeIle Hood (2008), Melville Kelly (2008), Anna Kinch (2012), Martha Laws (2017), Charles Lipford (2006), Judy Little (2016), Donna Netherland (2006), Reuben Pierce (2007), Fannie Stover (2011), Bertie Summerlin (2009), Ronald Taylor (2015)

Print the form below, complete, and submit/mail to the Elizabethton Carter County Public Library.

Nomination Form Educators Hall of Fame 2022.pdf